Contra Fighter

Be Safe, Be Vigilant, Be Alert

Preppers- Get Ready

January 9 I wrote in this blog about “Preppers-the new Survivalist“.  Little did I know when I wrote the article that National Geographic TV a.k.a. Nat Geo tv, was going to be doing their series on Preppers titled “Doomsday Preppers” premiering tonight at 9 p.m. eastern.

After seeing some of the previews and advertisements for it, I have come to the conclusion that, we as Preppers, better get ready.  Not for the grid down scenario, but for the public image, the portrayal, of the Preppers to be painted once again with the “kooks” paintbrush.  It also doesn’t help that some of the Preppers they feature are not what I would call the mainstream prepper.  Instead they have focused on the more outlandish, of what they think a prepper is and should be.  Look on the NatGeo website, they talk about having many vehicles and enough weapons to go war.  Really?  I hope that those featured on this documentary edition are realizing their mistake and look at how they will be portrayed.

To begin with, it was always assumed by myself, rightly or wrongly, that Preppers should remain behind a curtain of stealth and invisibility as much as possible.  After all when your neighbors know that you have enough food stockpiled for 15 years to feed 22 people, guess where they will be coming when the grid goes down?  That’s right.  Straight to their front door.  It can also be assumed, that if you had sense enough to stockpile weapons and ammunition, then surely you have food and water.  Again, the Golden Horde comes knocking at the front door, or they barge right through it. Weapons be damned.

I am not knocking any reason anyone has to be prepared, there are no “right” or “wrong” reasons for being a prepper.  For those of you old enough to remember or grew up during the height of the Cold War, it was always assumed that every American would be preparing a shelter and supplies for when the Soviet bear got hungry and attacked with nuclear weapons.  It was no big deal to go to your doctor and tell him that you are preparing a shelter with supplies and needed extra medications for the stockpile.  he would authorize extra meds for just that purpose.  There are still doctors out there who will do it, you just have to find who they are.  (Side note:  If you do know of a doctor who will do this, please let me know by email.)  It was expected of you as a United States citizen to prepare yourself and your family to prepare, survive and carry on the American way of life.  Not so anymore.  I will bet you paychecks that the top U.S. officials have their shelters well stocked and ready to go.  Any takers?

I will leave it to the each person who is a prepper to decide for themselves if it is a fair portrayal or a hit job.  So far, I do not like what I see, but I will give it a chance, and reserve my final judgement for after the show. Tell me and others what you think of the program by leaving comments to this blog.

Single Post Navigation

