Contra Fighter

Be Safe, Be Vigilant, Be Alert

Prepper Communications

It has been some time since my last blog post.  I have been busy organizing a Prepper group in my little niche of the world.  I would like to take some time and an update on my efforts, if you will allow me to do so.  We have had 2 meetings with a 3rd meeting set for later this month.  So far we have had some training on what to and how to prepare a “go” bag.  The group is starting to get a focus on what it is and how I intend to prepare for TEOTWAWKI.  We have found ourselves a communications officer, for lack of a better title.  He has over 30 years as a licensed HAM radio operator as well as doing his own radio repairs, whether it be CB or HAM radios.  I myself have been studying for my HAM tech license.  This months meeting will be focused on basic first aid up to and including, traumatic wound aid.  Next month the focus will be land navigation, without GPS.  Members will learn how to use a map and lensatic compass.  Now that this update is out of the way, let me get back to my title subject, Prepper Communications.

  I am no expert, but it does appear to me that communications is an issue that needs to be explored.   One reason is that should any of us find ourselves isolated, for any reason, communication outside your immediate sphere of influence is what might help you keep alive and your sanity.  Not to mention, not knowing is a smorgasboard to feed your internal, unrealized fears.  Fears that might not even exist, but because you don’t know what is happening, now becomes real, and any real or imagined fear acted upon could seal your fate. 

One thing that our group is doing and our communication officers is setting this up for our members.  He recommends a 2 meter ham radio.  The sets brand new go for around $155-$165.  Our members, all of them, will be purchasing a set.  For local line of sight communications, we will be setting up a radio net with mobile and base station CB radios.  The 2 meter ham radios can also be set up as a local radio net, and ours will be set to a local radio net.  The FCC has just cleared some frequencies on the 2 meter band for license free communications.  If you would like to know where we will be purchasing these radios, drop me an email, and I will get you the information.

Now along with wireless, over the air radio communications, it begs the issue of radio security.  That is, how do you know who you are talking to is really who they say they are?  Well I do not believe in re-inventing the wheel, and so I will take a page from the military.  For those of you who don’t know what I am blogging about, it is called a Communications Electronics Operating Instruction, or CEOI.  What it is can be found here.   Our communications officer is handling that important detail.  I feel very confident in our communication plan.

As for my subscribers, I will be more diligent in my duties in my blogging obligations.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

