Contra Fighter

Be Safe, Be Vigilant, Be Alert

Just thinking Prepper thoughts

Tonight as I sit in the comfort and safety of my home, watching the New York/New Jersey area being pummeled by Sandy, my thoughts have wandered to the next several days for the victims of this storm.  Mainly, I have wondered how some of those people will survive when they are going to need fresh water, and some basic food stuffs, when they will, more than likely, have no suitable shelter to go back to live.  How many of their homes will be damaged, no electricity available for as long as a week to ten days.  I wonder how many of those people being affected, have prepped for any type of event, whether it be man-made or natural.

I have been prepping for a little less than a year, but in that time I have been able to build my supply cache to include many first-aid items, fresh, clean water in storage some of it with a shelf life of thirty years some with a shelf life of 5 years.  Food supplies are starting to be built up.  Next up will be clothing and shelter needs.  My point is this,  if you prep now and stop caring what people will think of you, then you might be able to care for your family and loved ones.  Do you really want to depend on a government agency, whether it be federal, state or local?

As the head of my local prepper group, Ingleside Echo, I have chosen some people to which I will give some of the responsibility for the care and safety of my family over to their care.  I did not set out to be the head of the group, it kind of just fell upon me.  Why?,  I do not know, but since I decided to go forth with this effort, and I started reading many books,( some reference books for evacuating have been packed away), I decided that this was the right thing to do.  I encourage other people to prep for their families, yet usually when I do that, I get the comments of derision and degradation.  I wonder now, how many of those people are thinking to themselves “If I had just had ……”  (Fill in the blanks).  I actually think my family would be alright.  However, sitting watching this event, it gives me pause to think, “What do I have on hand and if I were in this situation, what do I need to stock?”

For those of you who don’t know where to get stocks of fresh water here is a link to the companies I use.  I use them because their prices are the cheapest I could find on the internet.  30 year water, 5 year water,  as for the food side of things I found this company,    72 hour emergency food kit .  Sure there are many other companies and products on the market, but the bottom line is this, you get what you can, when you can, for the best value that you can.  That is the way I do it.  I cannot afford alot of mass supplies in one massive purchase.  So I get what I can when I can.  I will say I do like Dollar General for their first aid supplies.  I think for the money and the selection they can’t be beat.

With that said, I ask all you to think and prepare yourselves for the unexpected, you won’t be sorry!- conelrad

Update- as of 11:17 pm cst it was just announced that the Long Island, Nassau county. New York residents should not drink any of the water via Fox News.  Hope they have their own emergency drinking water!!!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Just thinking Prepper thoughts

  1. I make it a point to have a 3 months supply of food and water on hand for every member of my family including pets. How people think they can get by with just a flashlight and some sandwiches is beyond me 🙂

    Like

